Otago Girls' High School was the first state secondary school for girls in the Southern Hemisphere. We are proud of the young women of Dunedin who have achieved personal excellence since Otago Girls' was founded in 1870.

An unequalled tradition of success in educating girls has seen Otago Girls' graduates become New Zealand's first women doctors, lawyers and judges; win Olympic and Commonwealth games medals, and gain international recognition in cuisine, music and the arts.

The following are a few of our amazing student achievements over the past year.

  • In 2023 Hamleen Nath (Year 13) has been accepted into The London International Youth Science Forum, a 15-day STEM summer campin the UK. She will have lecture demonstrations from leading scientists, scientific visits to world-class laboratories and scientific universities, combined with international cultural interaction.
  • In 2022 Harriet Thompson won a silver medal in the U17 single at Maadi Cup. Harriet Thompson, Sophie Orchiston, Maggie Hepburn, Islay Merriman and Emily Esplin won a bronze medal in their U17 coxed quad. Our rowers qualified for five A finals. This is the most Otago Girls' has ever achieved with our last medal at Maadi Cup being won 21 years ago.
  • In 2022 at the Australian Cross Country Championships in Adelaide in an elite field of 65 runners Catherine Lund placed 4th. She was just 5 seconds behind the 3rd place getter and the first kiwi home. 
  • In 2022 Sole Haircare, a company run by Otago Girls’ High School pupils Jenna Willis, Morgan Passey and Elsha Bulmer won the overall award in The Lion Foundation Young Enterprise Scheme (Yes) Company of the Year award.
  • In 2022 Paige Milburn was selected to sing in the NZ Secondary Students' Choir. 
  • In 2022 Immy Morey and Sammy McCormick won a finalist position in the national YouthTown song writing competition. 


PDF download

Prize list 2022
0.16mb PDF file